Past 90 days, most policies stop fitting check the cap first
Most travel policies are built for holidays. Annual multi-trip policies cap each trip: 90 days at Chubb, Allianz, AXA and ACA, and 60 days at Heymondo. AXA caps its single-trip policy at 90 days too. So for a stay of three months or more, the first question is not the price. It is whether the plan covers one trip that long at all.
Which plans you can use depends on where you live. The Indonesian insurers in this guide sell to residents of Indonesia, and Chubb, Allianz and AXA say you must buy before you leave Indonesia. If you are a visitor already in Bali, you are choosing between the plans sold worldwide online. We read each insurer's own pages and documents in October 2026; where they do not publish something, the table says so.
Eight plans, by trip length as published, Oct 2026
The first four plans are sold worldwide online to travellers outside their home country. The last four are Indonesian policies for residents travelling abroad. Prices are what each insurer publishes, with its basis; they are not quotes for your dates. The table scrolls sideways on a phone.
| Plan | Who can buy | Longest single trip | Buy once abroad? | Published price (basis) | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SafetyWing Nomad Insurance Essential | Ages 14 days to 69, any nationality except Cuban, travelling outside your home country. | 364 days, on a recurring (paid every 28 or 364 days) or a fixed-dates plan. | Yes. Claims from the first 72 hours after purchase need extra proof of when the problem started. | US$62.72 per 4 weeks, ages 18–39. | Pre-existing conditions are not covered. Scooters over 50cc need the Adventure Sports add-on, which the fixed-dates plan cannot take. |
| Genki Traveler | Any nationality, up to age 69 at the start. | 12 months, then it ends. | Yes. With no prior cover, only emergencies are covered for the first 14 days. | Not published. Quote-based. | Conditions with symptoms or treatment in the year before the start are excluded. Small scooters are covered without a local licence; the driver must wear a helmet. |
| Insured Nomads Insured Travelers Med+ | Non-US residents outside the country of their passport, 14 days to under 79. | 364 days. Not renewable. | Not stated. | Example only: US$46.80 a month at age 29, with a US$250 deductible and US$250,000 maximum, for 30 days. | Cover ends when you return to your passport country. Two- and three-wheel vehicles are excluded unless a motorcycle registered for road use. Pre-existing conditions only after 6 months on the plan. |
| Heymondo Long Stay | “Anyone” outside their home country. Age limit 49. | Bought for at least 90 days, then renewed. No overall maximum published. | Not stated for a first purchase. Renewals are done online before expiry. | US$162 for the first 90 days, worldwide excluding the USA (US$296 including it). Age basis not published. | Pre-existing conditions are not covered. No scooter terms published. US$250 excess on medical claims. |
| Chubb Travel Insurance Plus (single trip) | Residents of Indonesia, including foreigners with a non-tourist visa. Ages 18–85. | 183 days. | No. It must be activated before you leave Indonesia. | Rp 894,000 for 26–31 days, plus a published rate of Rp 152,000 per week (Essential, worldwide excluding the US, Canada and a few territories, up to age 69). | Pre-existing conditions are excluded. The adventure-sport add-on is limited to trips of up to 31 days. |
| Allianz TravelPRO (single trip) | People who live or work in Indonesia, with a KTP, KITAS, KITAP or long-stay visit visa. | 183 days, per the product page. | No. The policy must be bought before you leave Indonesia. | Rp 1,531,000 for 26–31 days, then a per-week rate (Superior, worldwide excluding the US and Canada, ages 14 days to 59). | Extreme sports and competitions are excluded. We found no pre-existing or scooter wording on the product page. |
| ACA New Travel Safe Platinum | Indonesian citizens, or foreigners with a KITAS or temporary stay permit. | 180 days on the product page. Its product summary says up to 12 months. Ask ACA which applies. | Not stated. | Rp 1,308,000 for 26–31 days, Rp 250,000 per extra week up to 94 days, then Rp 320,000 per week (Worldwide), plus a Rp 30,000 fee. | Motorcycling, hiking and water sports are excluded. So are conditions treated or diagnosed in the 12 months before the policy. |
| AXA SmartTravel Internasional | Indonesian citizens, or foreigners with a KITAS. | 90 days, on single-trip and annual policies. | No. Buy before you leave Indonesia. | Priced per day and per benefit. | Does not cover one trip longer than 90 days. |
“Not stated” means we did not find it on the insurer's pages or documents we read, not that the answer is no. Our advice: ask the insurer in writing before you rely on it.
Three to twelve months on a visitor plan
For a visitor, the four online plans are the field. They differ most on four things.
- Price for about three months. Heymondo publishes US$162 for the first 90 days (worldwide excluding the USA; the age basis is not published), with renewals from US$54 for 30 more days; a 120-day stay is US$216 on those prices (our arithmetic). SafetyWing charges US$62.72 per 4 weeks for ages 18–39, so three 4-week cycles, 84 days, cost US$188.16 (our arithmetic). Genki publishes no price, and Insured Nomads only a 30-day example.
- Age.Heymondo's age limit is 49. SafetyWing and Genki take you up to 69, and Insured Nomads up to age 78 (under 79).
- Medical limit. Heymondo Long Stay lists up to US$2,500,000, Genki EUR 1,000,000 with a EUR 50 deductible per case (none for hospital stays), Insured Nomads a choice up to US$1,000,000, and SafetyWing US$250,000.
- Flying home mid-stay. SafetyWing gives limited emergency cover at home, only once the plan has run 90 days: 30 days per visit in a rolling 90 days, or up to 90 days per visit per 180 days if you pay for 364 days in one go. Genki covers emergencies only, for the first 6 weeks of each home stay, after at least 4 weeks abroad. Insured Nomads' cover ends when you return to your passport country.
Already in Bali without cover? SafetyWingsays you can buy “even if you’ve already left your home country”, and Genkisays you can sign up while travelling. The catches are SafetyWing's 72-hour proof rule and Genki's 14-day emergencies-only period if you had no cover before.
Residents going abroad for three months or more
If you live in Indonesia, including on a KITAS, the Indonesian policies are the ones written for you. Annual policies do not fit a long trip: Chubb, Allianz, AXA and ACA all cap each annual trip at 90 days. A single-trip policy does, at Chubb (183 days), Allianz (183 days) and ACA (180 days on its product page). Buy it before you fly: Chubb, Allianz and AXA say you cannot buy once you have left Indonesia.
ACA's table has a row called “Additional week (32-94 days)”, so a 94-day trip is its 26–31 day price plus 9 additional weeks. That sum equals ACA's published annual price in both zones: Rp 3,558,000 Worldwide and Rp 2,983,000 Asia. Chubb publishes a per-week rate (“Perpanjangan / minggu”) but does not spell out how it is charged, so we do not total it; ask Chubb for a quote for your dates. Prices are for one person; zones, plans and limits differ, so compare within an insurer.
| Plan and basis | 26–31 days | Weekly rate as published | 94-day trip (our arithmetic) | Medical limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACA Platinum Worldwide, no age basis printed | Rp 1,308,000 | Rp 250,000 per additional week (32–94 days) | Rp 3,558,000, plus a Rp 30,000 fee | Rp 1.5bn |
| ACA Platinum Asia, no age basis printed | Rp 1,093,000 | Rp 210,000 per additional week (32–94 days) | Rp 2,983,000, plus a Rp 30,000 fee | Rp 1.5bn |
| Chubb Essential, worldwide excluding the US, Canada and a few territories, individual up to 69 | Rp 894,000 | Rp 152,000 per week | Not totalled: ask Chubb | Rp 1bn |
| Chubb Essential, worldwide excluding Cuba, individual up to 69 | Rp 1,313,000 | Rp 266,000 per week | Not totalled: ask Chubb | Rp 1bn |
ACA's annual policy, though, caps each trip at 90 days, so it does not cover the same 94-day trip. Allianz also publishes a per-week rate, but we could not re-open its brochure to confirm how that rate applies, so it is not in this table.
Matching the plan to the stay our view
This is our view, based on the published terms above. Get a quote for your dates before you decide.
- Visitor, under 50, three to four months, no scooter. Heymondo Long Stay has the clearest published price for 90 days. Check its age limit and ask how it treats scooters before you buy.
- Already in Bali and uninsured. SafetyWing or Genki, the two that say in plain words that you can buy while abroad. Expect the 72-hour or 14-day limits above.
- Riding a scooter.Genki's small-scooter clause is the most permissive we read. On SafetyWing, take a recurring plan with the Adventure Sports add-on from day one: SafetyWing says it is only available at the time of purchase and can't be added to an active plan.
- Over 49. Heymondo is out. SafetyWing and Genki go to 69, Insured Nomads to under 79.
- Resident of Indonesia, away three to six months. A single-trip policy from Chubb, Allianz or ACA, bought before you leave. Get quotes through our travel quote form.
- Away more than a year, or not coming back. Travel insurance is the wrong tool. Genki says to have other long-term cover. Look at expat health insurance instead.
Common questions
Sources
- SafetyWing: Nomad Insurance plans and pricing
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, how much does the plan cost (plan types, 364-day maximum)
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, who can get this insurance (buying after you have left)
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, medical coverage during visits to your home country
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, pre-existing conditions
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, am I covered on a motorbike, scooter or moped
- SafetyWing Help: Essential, what is the Adventure Sports add-on (only at the time of purchase)
- Genki Traveler: product page (12 months, sign-up abroad, home-country cover, waiting period)
- Genki Traveler: product information document, 1 September 2026 (PDF)
- Insured Nomads: Insured Travelers Med+ product page
- Insured Nomads: Insured Travelers Med+ (Worldwide excl USA) plan document (PDF)
- Heymondo: Long Stay Travel Insurance (prices, renewal, age limit)
- Heymondo: Annual Multi-Trip Travel Insurance (60 days per trip)
- Chubb: Travel Insurance Plus international brochure, Aug 2025 (PDF): 183-day single trip, price table
- Chubb Travel Insurance: FAQ (buy before leaving Indonesia, who can buy, moving abroad)
- Allianz: TravelPRO single-trip product page (183 days, buy before leaving Indonesia)
- Allianz: TravelPRO single-trip brochure, Aug 2026 (PDF): price tables
- ACA: New Travel Safe product page (180-day single trip, who can buy)
- ACA: Travel Safe Platinum product summary (RIPLAY, PDF, Sep 2026): price table, exclusions
- AXA: SmartTravel Internasional product summary (RIPLAY, PDF, Jul 2026): 90 days per trip
- EU Visa Code (Regulation (EC) 810/2009), consolidated text 28.06.2024: Art. 15 travel medical insurance
Related guides
Ready to compare real numbers?
60 seconds, no spam. Quotes from licensed partners on WhatsApp.
This guide is general information, not regulated insurance advice. Estimates are indicative — final premiums, terms, and eligibility come from the licensed insurer or broker. Rules and rates change; verify anything load-bearing before you rely on it. See our methodology and disclosure.